Third Battle of Ypres Commemoration - Community Recognition Statement

15 October 2019

Dr MARJORIE O'NEILL (Coogee)—I rise today to acknowledge The Families and Friends of the First AIF, for their fitting commemoration of the Third Battle of Ypres. I had the honour of representing the Leader of the Opposition at this years' service, held in the new ANZAC Auditorium at the ANZAC Memorial in Hyde Park. The Commemoration honoured the 43 Divisions of British and Dominion troops involved in all the Third Battle of Ypres. The battles lasted for 102 days with more than 300,000 casualties. Australian Divisions participated in the battles of Menin Road, Polygon Wood, Broodseinde, Poelcapelle and Passchendaele.

This year the Commemorative Address being given by Mr Paul Irving, President, Royal United Services Institute of Defence and Strategic Studies NSW (RUSINSW), who told a harrowing story of a young man who remarkably made it through the conflict and back to Australia, but bore the internal scars of battle throughout his life. Sacrifices like these must never be forgotten. I would like to thank the Jim Munro, the President of the Families and Friends of the 1st AIF for putting the service together and the ANZAC Memorial for hosting this fitting commemoration.